

## **Committee and Date**

Council

20 July 2017

## COUNCIL

#### Minutes of the meeting held on 22 June 2017 In the Council Chamber, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury, SY2 6ND 12.00 - 12.25 pm

Responsible Officer: Karen Nixon Email: karen.nixon@shropshire.gov.uk Tel: 01743 257720

### Present

Councillors Peter Nutting (Chairman) and Ann Hartley (Leader) Councillors Peter Adams, Roy Aldcroft, Clare Aspinall, Nicholas Bardsley, Joyce Barrow, Thomas Biggins, Karen Calder, Dean Carroll, Lee Chapman, Steve Charmley, Ted Clarke, Gerald Dakin, Julian Dean, Pauline Dee, Roger Evans, Hannah Fraser, Nat Green, Simon Harris, Nigel Hartin, Nick Hignett, Vince Hunt (Speaker), Ioan Jones, Simon Jones, Mark Jones, Jonny Keeley, Nic Laurens, Elliott Lynch, Chris Mellings, Paul Milner, David Minnery, Dan Morris, Pamela Moseley, Alan Mosley, Peggy Mullock, Kevin Pardy, William Parr, Vivienne Parry, Tony Parsons, Malcolm Pate, Alexander Phillips, Lezley Picton, Ed Potter, John Price, Keith Roberts, Madge Shineton, David Vasmer, Stuart West, Leslie Winwood, Michael Wood and Paul Wynn

### 27 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Andy Boddington, Gwilym Butler, Steve Davenport, DavidEvans, Roger Hughes, Heather Kidd, Christian Lea, Matt Lee, Jane MacKenzie, Cecilia Motley, Harry Taylor, Robert Tindall, Dave Tremellen, Kevin Turley and Claire Wild.

# 28 Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Members were reminded that they must not participate in the discussion or voting on any matter in which they have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest and should leave the room prior to the commencement of the debate.

### 29 Appointment of Honorary Alderman

It was proposed by the Leader and seconded by the Deputy Leader that the report, a copy of which is attached to the signed minutes and the recommendations contained therein, be received and agreed.

The Leader stated that it was an honour to propose former Councillor David Lloyd MBE to be conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman of the Council for his eminent service to the Council. Referring to his fairness, open mindedness and his wonderful personality the Leader then opened the floor to allow others to make their own tributes. In seconding the

proposition, the Deputy Leader added that David Lloyd was a most deserving recipient for this accolade.

Tributes were made across the chamber; comments including David Lloyd's great ability, integrity, diplomacy, fairness, consideration for others, stabilising influence, a great statesman, a man who was widely respected across all political groups and, above all, a true gentleman.

In accepting the appointment of Honorary Alderman, David Lloyd thanked the Council for the honour. He commented on his lengthy political career and the milestones along the way and stressed the need for local government to champion itself and endeavour to receive due recognition for its endeavours. He stressed the need to develop a good working relationship with local Parish and Town Councils and concluded that he would continue to be local government's number one fan!

The Chairman of Council presented Mr David Lloyd MBE with a certificate to confer the title of 'Honorary Alderman' upon him.

#### **RESOLVED**:

- i) That former Councillor David Lloyd MBE be invited to accept the position of Honorary Alderman of Shropshire Council;
- ii) That, in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, Mr David Lloyd MBE be admitted as Honorary Alderman of Shropshire Council in recognition of the eminent services which he has rendered to the county; and
- iii) That the common seal of the Council be affixed to a certificate conferring upon Mr David Lloyd MBE the title of 'Honorary Alderman'

Signed (Chairman)

Date: